In persuit of happiness

Today as I prepped my Facebook posts I came across an image of myself in 2013.

For the sake of the particular post I published it but it’d been haunting me all day .

This is me in 2013

Me 2013

I look so serious, much older than my then 39 years and my eyes are screaming with unhappiness.

 My face doesn’t display my usual smile and even my clothing choice is dull and depressing.

This was exactly how I felt.

I was depressed,  stuck in a loveless , abusive marriage with no where to turn.

I couldn’t see anything positive in my life and felt no joy in the things that usually kept me happy.

Four months after this photo was taken , I’d packed my bags , left Jhb and started my adventure for a new life…..

Me 2017

This is me today

I feel and hope I look younger than my 43 years. My photos show smiles and light hearted joking poses. 

Gone are the hurt eyes staring back at me .

 My clothing is bright and even my poses are less stiff and more relaxed. 

Smile through your eyes always

Our body language and clothing choice speaks unimaginable truths about us. 

I look at the images above and I thankfully don’t recognise the first me.

My journey wasnt easy..

But the price of happiness is doubled when we chose to let go of what doesn’t bring joy to our lives and start to take control for our own destiny.

One thought on “In persuit of happiness

  1. I completely get it Judy. I too went through a horrible time. Many of my photos also show pain in my eyes but now, after reading this post, I decided to look at myself again. I see the happiness that is now in my life in my eyes and many friends have commented that I’m a whole new person. I’ve lived it and felt it and got through it. I hope this reaches many people out there who are also going through whatever their problems may be and I hope it helps them realise that there is light at the end of the tunnel and that there is ALWAYS, something better.

    Like

Leave a Reply

