Of handbags and husbands ….

As our wedding draws nearer I reflect on how we got here. 

I met papa by accident that when I shoved my handbag at him, rather unceremoniously, asking him to hold it for me so I could dance πŸ˜‰

In my defence I thought he was with the group of guys I was dancing with. 

Ladies I wouldnt recommend following my example, as I was just really lucky that he turned out to be a gentleman and not a bag theif πŸ˜‚

If you’d told me the man who held my bag would soon hold my heart, I’d have laughed at you ….

Now, I look back at that moment and am eternally greatfull that I’m a little forward every so often

That night after dancing , we collected my bestie (now my maid of honour) and he gave us a lift home.

Two weeks later I found a message from him on my what’s app. (Which had crashed and I’d just reinstalled)

I don’t remember the exact wording but it was full of flattery and so we had our first date that day.

What started as a lunch after he took me (Sbear and the bestie) to book my Gun run ticket and find mini marshmallows for work became lunch , photos, shopping for my new outfit and an 80s party.

The rest they say is history. …

But some moments stand out for me .

Like how he bought me coffee at work,  drove to fetch me poppers for lunch,  held my hand through my tattoo and joined me on one crazy adventure after the other.

Before I knew it I had fallen head over heels. ( not that I was going to admit that πŸ˜‰πŸ˜Ž)

This year , on the day before our wedding, we celebrate 3 awesome adventurous years together.

Every year we celebrate hold my handbag day in September and I’ve been thinking of a way to include a handbag holding ceremony in the wedding πŸ˜‚

And as I make wedding plans I’m reminded daily just how much I love my crazy bag holder and how lucky I am to be marrying my best friend. 

Leave a Reply

