Ripleys … believe it or not (review )

I’ve been a fan of Ripleys amazing facts since I can remember.  As a young girl I would read for hours from the huge volumes of facts that we collected each year in his book of records.

 As I grew older I found some of his old comics in vintage books and would read these over and over again. So when I saw the Ripleysbelieve it or not exibit I just had to see if the hype was real.

In the pouring rain we headed to the Clock tower at V & A, to be greeted by Jean , our amazing tour guide and one of the most knowledgeable young men I’ve had the pleasure of meeting.  With a warm welcome he lead us to the beginning and showered us with facts that certainly aided the exibit.

I was interested to find out that Ripley himself was awkward as a child and so identified with the strange and unique people he often came across. A fact I hadn’t known until today. 

With over 170 artifacts and interactive exhibits, there’s something interesting for everyone. From real shrunken heads ( oh did my stomach turn) to the Olympic torch. 

Do not be fooled by the small looking size of this exhibit. It took us about an hour to amble our way through the informative plaques of each artifact.

I personally enjoyed the variety of art work from various mediums and am still amazed that there’s someone who can create masterpieces in the eye of a needle.

What really caught my attention was how child friendly this exhibit is. There are stickers placed stratigically encouraging you to take photos. The microscopes have little steps for tiny feet to stand on and the kids can touch and see certain artifacts. 

Bear got to hold the Olympic flame, sit in the eye of a needle, try out one of the largest chairs and drive a mini car. (Just look at the delight on that face )

It’s not often you can take a baby or child to an exhibit or museum and keep them occupied. Ripleysbelieve it or not ticked all the blocks for us and although I would recommend it for older children (7+) bear was constantly entertained,  and I got some amazing photos.

The dinosaur exhibit was my favourite and I enjoyed trying to guess which fossil was which … 3 out of 4 not bad for a teacher. 😂

 Hidden amidst the dinosaurs were the skeleton of a komodo dragon , dodo and two headed calf. 

It also boasts the largest nest of fossilised dinosaur eggs.

There are various screens showing clips from particular Ripleys shows and a wide assortment of strange and scarey people.

You can photograph yourself next to the fattest man or measure how tall you are next to the world’s tallest man. Don’t forget to hear the story of the tattoo lady and see how small tiny tims suit was. 

I highly recommend a visit if you’ve not yet been. Fun, educational and child friendly.  

Open from 9am to 9 pm.

One of the best exhibits we’ve seen

For more information 

http://www.ripleyscapetown.com/

Leave a Reply

