Moms and babes …a review

​Moms and babes 

Moms and babes Tableview

Last Thursday little bear and I , yes with broken ankle, went to our very first Moms and Babes classes. Although I’m a seasoned mom, this was my first experience at baby stimulation classes. I’ve taught baby classes at school and done much research for my own children so I was quite interested to see life from the other perspective, that of the student.
Moms and babes , come very highly recommended in all circles , but still I had my doubts as to how much I’d walk away with and what benefit little bear would gain other than from a social perspective. 
Vannessa started our class with soft music creating a gentle ambiance for the little babes. Moms were casual as we glanced around the bright , neat studio. Comfortable beanbags meant that , even with my ankle, everyone was sitting comfortably and level with their babies who were made comfortable on little blankets, each with its own activity gym and box of wonders.
What impressed me was the lack of pressure. Moms weren’t forced to make a baby participate and often, if little one is fussing you feel the need to run out and calm him , as little bear fussed no evil glances were shone my way and Vannessa calmly carried on her lesson.
I was impressed to hear the foundation of the program was designed by professionals , meaning none of the activities would harm my now 8 week old.
The lesson began with the introduction of visual tracking and little bear followed my face as I leaned over him cooing. Next he tracked a bouncy monkey , somehow the monkey seemed more entertaining than mom as he cooed and gurgled.
We were lead into some action rhymes , and shown how to move baby’s arms and legs to assist with his gross motor development. Little bear and I have been singing pat-a -cake and tall buildings for a week now and he loves it.
The other activities were all age appropriate and easy for moms and baby to follow. I especially took note of the correct way to help baby sit and roll over. This was something I certainly didn’t know, even 7 kiddos later.
 The toys are well kept and clean. I didn’t flinch as I lay little bear on his tummy for tummy time and saw him suck the mirror.
We launched into story time, which is my favourite and as I sat little bear in front of me his eyes scanned all around, the book of little interest compared to all the new sounds, voices and colours around him.
Our lesson ended in cuddles and this was his favourite part. Having now realised he’d just spent the good part of his morning learning new skills, as if on command he snuggled in and closed his eyes for a well deserved nap.
Thank you Vannessa for an amazing first experience. For your calm gentle voice and your knowledgeable lesson. 
Little bear and I can’t wait for our next class ……
Contact:

Vanessa

vanessa@momsandbabes.co.za

0727873393

https://www.facebook.com/momsandbabes.tableview/

Leave a Reply

